Six Counties join hands to enforce the 50kgs potato packaging rule.

Six potato producing counties have agreed to work together to enforce the 50kgs potato packaging rule.

In a joint communiqué, Nakuru, Nyandarua, Narok, Uasin Gishu, Elgeyo Marakwet and West Pokot counties said they had agreed to work together with all stakeholders to identify and gazette potato collection points as well as marketing centers in the counties. Further, the respective counties shall work closely with law enforcers and the judiciary to ensure full compliance to the rule by the industry players.

“We agreed to join hands because the potato sector is a huge contributor to the economy, worth up to Kshs. 70 billion annually and has a potential of Kshs. 200 billion. We recognize that 1 million farmers benefit from potato growing and the crop supports 3.5 million value chain actors. Recently, the Council of Governors submitted a list of crop inspectors who are expected to implement these regulations. We ask the National Government, through the Agriculture and Food Authority (AFA), to gazette the inspectors to enable them to begin their work immediately,” said Nakuru Governor Lee Kinyanjui.

Others present during the agreement include the Elgeyo Marakwet Governor Alex Tolgos, Deputy Governors Daniel Chemno of Uasin Gishu and Cecillia Mbuthia from Nyandarua as well as Agriculture CECs from the six counties.

Share your views about this story

Related stories

Subscribe to Kilimo News

Get the latest agriculture news in East Africa