5.5 Million Shillings per share to be paid out to Kalangala Oil Palm Growers

Oil Palm Seedlings in a Nursery at Bwendero, Kalangala district where more organised farmers in groups are taking on commercial Oil Palm Growing with guidance and coordination from the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries. Photo-MAAIF
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Farmers in Uganda organized under the umbrella Kalangala Oil Palm Growers Trust (KOPGT) are set to receive dividends worth UGX 5.5 M per share.

This has been communicated in the official dividend payout letter from the Directors of Oil Palm Uganda Limited to the Management of the Trust and signed off by the Company Secretary.

According to MAAIF Permanent Secretary Mr. Pius Wakabi Kasajja this progress is as a result of farmers being well-organized under the coordination of the Ministry using the Public-Private Producer Partnership (4P) model of the National Oil Palm Project.

The National Oil Palm Project (NOPP) evolved from the Vegetable Oil Development Project (VODP) to scale up support for commercial Oil Palm growing across the country.

VODP which was implemented in 2 phases with phase 2 having run from 2010 to 2018, supported organised commercial growing of Oil Seeds ( including sim sim, sun flower, ground nuts and soya bean) and Oil Palm as follows.

The Oil Seed Component was rolled out to 52 Districts coordinated by Oil Seeds Project Hubs.

The West Nile Hub coordinates the districts of Arua, Zombo, Nebbi, Yumbe, Moyo, Koboko and Maracha.

Another Hub in Gulu coordinates the Districts of Gulu, Amuru, Kitgum, Pader, Adjumani, Lamwo, Nwoya and Agago.

The third Hub which is in Lira coordinates the Districts of Lira, Apac, Masindi, Serere, Kaberamaido, Oyam, Amuria, Soroti, Kiryandongo, Amolatar, Alebtong, Otuke, Ngora, Katakwi, Dokolo and Kole.

The fourth Hub which is in Mbale Coordinates the Districts of Mbale, Bukedea, Kumi, Manafwa, Pallisa, Sironko, Bulambuli, Bukwo, Kapchorwa, Kween Bugiri, Tororo, Busia, Jinja, Iganga, Mayuge, Budaka, Butaleja, Namutumba, Kaliro and Kamuli.

The National Oil Palm Project evolved from the Oil Palm Component of the project to cover more districts.

Share your views about this story

Related stories

Subscribe to Kilimo News

Get the latest agriculture news in East Africa

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!